And in Green-Wood he Lies Slain

When I die one day, I want to be buried here, nowhere else. That’s what I thought, when I walked through Green-Wood Cemetery today. It is so beautiful. It’s not just a cemetery, it is a landscape garden. There are hills, trees and lakes and the old tombstones, mausoleums, sculptures and memorials are scattered all across the areal, not neatly ordered in rows. At least it looks like that. The upcoming fall coloring currently gives the scenery a particular beauty.
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Green-Wood Cemetery is huge. My plan was to take the Wednesday afternoon Historic Trolley Tour and I tried to book it online on Monday. My credit card did not pass the address check. So I just went there, hoping to get a ticket. How many people would want to see Green-Wood Cemetery on a Wednesday afternoon in September? The B63 bus arrived at my stop late, got crowded and took ages to get down to Green-Wood. So I arrived at the gate 2 minutes before 1pm, happy to see the trolley still standing there. But the tour was sold out. I told the guy that I had tried to book online and had problems with my credit card. He asked me if it is a foreign one. Their system is a bit quirky about foreign cards, he said. Next time I should just call them. Good idea! I hadn’t even thought of calling. They kindly gave me a large print map, if I wanted to go for a walk instead.

So I took my Big Onion Guide and started to walk. Their walk is scheduled for three hours. I used to need more than the given time on walks, because I read the descriptions and take photos. So I decided not to do the whole walk but just a part of it.
I climbed up to Battle Hill, the site of the Civil War with the Soldiers’ Memorial. It is Brooklyn’s highest point.
???????????????????????????????
On my way to there I passed a memorial to the victims of the Brooklyn Theater fire in 1876 where 278 people had been killed. And the cemetery’s most fancy pyramid. It’s entry is flanked by Mary, Joseph and the baby.
???????????????????????????????
Behind the Soldiers’ Memorial I found the grave of Leonard Bernstein, which is very unspectacular.
???????????????????????????????
I followed the walk for about an hour, then I left it and walked downhill towards the Chapel and the lakes and turned south to the newer part.
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
A tunnel beneath 5th Avenue connects the annex on the other side. That’s the part that faces the squatted house in Paul Auster’s Sunset Park. As I had no proper lunch I was hungry and as Ines Bakery was not far I walked there, got some pastries and caught the R train to get to Court Street.

From there I walked home after an unsuccessful attempt to buy a skirt at Banana Republic on Montague Street. The cats were happy that I came because Priya had used her free day to go out and they were alone. As soon as I had placed myself and my computer on my bed they both joined me and called for attention. While Pepper simply cuddled up close to me and pushed me with her nose when I stopped petting her Astor gave my arms a scrub massage with his tongue. He had started this in the morning after I had applied an Aloe Vera lotion that he apparently liked. So it took me quite long to finally finish yesterday’s post and there was no time left to finally have a beer in the Brooklyn Inn, where the writers go.

This entry was posted in in New York, Neighborhoods and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

