The Morley Walk

Does anybody out there know who Christopher Morley was? Well, I didn’t.
What attracted me was a listing in Time Out magazine: A Reader’s Tour of Brooklyn. I checked out the given link and my Sunday program was set. I would join the Morley Walk.

Christopher Morley (1890-1957) was a writer and published two novellas about a passionate bookseller and the bookselling business. The second novella, “The Haunted Bookstore” is set in Brooklyn and is a funny mystery story.
The walk was a crazy thing. We – about 20 booklovers – met in a café south of Prospect Park at noon and walked through Brooklyn, reading the book – aloud. Along the way volunteers read 5 pages each while walking. We walked around Prospect Park, through Park Slope and Prospect Heights to Fort Greene.
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
On our way we passed four bookstores where we were invited to browse and buy books.
???????????????????????????????
The Brooklyn Library was our stop to pick up a lunch from one of the various food trucks on Grand Army Plaza. We did not go into the library. Don’t know why. It’s open on Sundays and I think it would have been a good idea.
I did not buy more than one book, THE book, but added some to my list. Not being able to read while I walk I did not volunteer – although I was asked.
The tour ended in a beer place in Fort Greene, called “Der Schwarze Kölner”. They offer German beers and food. New Yorkers are quite fond of German beer. We got a free sample of Grapefruit Weizen. Well, I prefer real beer.

On the walk I met a guy who announced the opening of a bookstore in Crown Heights, at Franklin Avenue and Park Place. That’s my corner! It will open up shortly after I will have left though. But I passed the information to Rachael. I think Franklin Avenue will be a good place for a bookstore. There is none in Crown Heights as far as I know.

The walk was organized by a young Brooklyn publishing company, Melville House, in cooperation with the bookstores on the way. The purpose was supporting the sales of the book, but I think this is a great way of marketing. It was fun. I imagined a walk like this in Cologne. Would not be possible, I think.

This entry was posted in in New York, Neighborhoods and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Morley Walk

  1. Kathrin says:

    another very interesting text, Maria. As always, would so much have loved to be with you! You really get to know NY – better than many Americans, I can imagine.
    Keep going, keep writing, enjoy.
    Love
    Kathrin

  2. Exciting! I was also there on behalf of Off The Book. 🙂 Wish I had said hello! I think too many of us book fans are a little quiet… – Amanda

    • Maria says:

      That’s amazing! Cannot remember having seen you. But I just read your post about the Morley Walk and found myself on some of your pictures. It’s such a small world! Maria

Leave a Reply

