An Attempt to Visit the Bronx

The 1 train spit me out at 242nd Street / van Cortland Park and I found myself in the middle of nowhere. My plan was to explore Riverdale in the Bronx. I had a neighborhood profile showing some places of interest, two historic districts among them. It said “it is easy to get to Riverdale” and told me to take the 1 train to van Cortland Park.
So I was standing there at the most neglected subway station I have ever seen in New York and had no idea where to go from there. The neighborhood profile had mentioned a Shuttle but there was none. I realized I didn’t even have my 5 borough city map with me. How could this happen to me?
What I finally did after thinking about what to do for a while was get on the train again and ride back to Manhattan.

I felt like a treat. I remembered the Hungarian Pastry Shop from a previous trip and thought it was around City College. So I got off there, climbed uphill, thought I could have a coffee and a nice and unhealthy piece of cake and afterwards walk down to Harlem from there – and found out it was not around City College but around Columbia. So I got a bus on Amsterdam to go to Columbia once more. I found the Café at once and got a Latte and a cheese-and-lemon-cake. The Hungarian Pastry Shop is great. It has a huge selection of cakes and pastries, all looking like in paradise. People, mostly students, are sitting at small tables, most of them having a reading light, working on their laptops, reading something or talking. I was reading, one of the new stories.
???????????????????????????????
Just across the street the Cathedral of St. John the Divine is overlooking the neighborhood. It is huge. At the entrance there is a wooden box for donations and a sign says “Thank you for your donation of 10$”. Unmistackable and really modest. Nobody paid.
???????????????????????????????
Right next to the cathedral there is a peace garden with a big state and lots of little panels showing peace related sentences by writers and other artist. A quite and peaceful place.
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
I had another look at the Columbia tote bag (without buying it) then walked downhill to Riverside Park. It’s just a natural park without any planted flowers, overlooking New Jersey across Hudson River.

Back home and after resting for a while and going through my received critiques, I met Ettice, her brother Andre and Michelle in the living room- They had picked up food and Ettice was mixing her rum based house drinks. I was invited to join them and have one. In the end I think I had four, at least three and we had discussed the world.
That’s why this post is a little bit shorter.

What I learned today:
It’s not easy to go to the Bronx. You should exactly know where you want to go and how you can get there. Or leave it.

This entry was posted in in New York, Neighborhoods and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

