Finally the West Village

I got up very early (for my NY standards) and managed to finish all homework by 1 pm. I saved all my files on a stick and went to the Harlem library to print them. An instruction sheet hanging above the copier had told me last time that printing from a data stick is possible without using a computer. It just didn’t work out. I inserted my copy card, connected the stick – and nothing happened. The machine should have shown me my files to select. It didn’t do that. All PCs were in use. The PC where reservations can be made was out of use. The line at the desk didn’t move forward. I had no intension to spend the afternoon in the library. Not that I don’t like libraries, but there is more to see in NY then the Harlem library. So I decided to meet the lions.

I took the train to midtown and determinedly walked up the stairs of the central library, passed the information desk and took the elevator up to the reading room in the 3rd floor. I was not a visitor today but a user. I instantly found an available PC and got my stuff printed quickly.
A short fly through the library bookstore, then I picked up a goat cheese, beet, pine nuts and arugula sandwich and found a seat and table in Bryant Park, where I checked the western Greenwich Village walk in my book featuring literary walks while munching my sandwich.

Having finished my lunch I walked over to Times Square ignoring the bus tours and vendors of tourist stuff and took a downtown 1 train, stopping every few blocks to Houston Street.
The first place mentioned in my book was a disappointment. Anglers & Writers, once a booklover’s café and restaurant is no more. Too old fashioned for this fashionable city maybe.
The village’s structure is surprising me again and again. Thinking I was in a part of the Village I had never been before when I stepped out of Leroy Street I found myself in exactly that part of Bleecker Street where I had spent a lot of time on all my visits. The corner of Cornelia Street, Murray’s Cheese Shop, Amy’s Bread, the bookstore, the shoe shop with the colorful shoes, the Risotteria. I got two scoops of icecream for as little as 2.50$ at the Italian bakery and strolled from place to place.
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
On Morton Street I found tea parlor which I have to keep in mind for the fall. On 7th avenue and Bedford I found a cozy wine bar and beer house – all in one -, perfect for a glass and a snack before class. Barrow, Grove, Bedford and Commerce Streets form the main part of Historic Greenwich Village. They are just incredibly cozy.
Village
Good old Chumley’s, a famous former speakeasy where a chimney crashed some years ago, has been rebuilt and the villagers are curious what it will be like when it is finished. Cherry Lane Theatre reminded me to check out its program.
???????????????????????????????
Christopher Park at Sheridan Square, where the statues of two gay couples are standing is currently not very appealing. The guys hanging around there just don’t look like pleasant company.
???????????????????????????????
I finished my walk on Perry Street and walked towards West 10th Street, where my school is. At the corner of Hudson Street I had a Falafel Sandwich and an iced mint tea. Nothing special, but ok and very friendly.

Class was about descriptions today. I will have to practice a lot about this. To use all of my senses, not just the vision. Homework for next week is to describe a meal. Isn’t that a good reason to go out for dinner?

This entry was posted in in New York, Neighborhoods and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally the West Village

  1. Sadie says:

    Maria, I always enjoy your choice of meals. I made a note of your lunch sandwich with goat cheese, beets, pine nuts, and arugula to make for myself (sans goat cheese, being vegan). It would be interesting if you could describe your “first bite” sensations- mouth feel, taste, smell, and of course presentation, since we eat with our eyes first. Great job describing your library experience with your “data stick”. You are nailing New York! Xoxo

    • Maria says:

      Use crispy whole grain bread fore the sandwich, Sadie! Why are american rolls so wishy-washy? I guess people do have teeth in this country.
      And plese remind me if I am continuing describing food just using my visuell sense. I’m eager to take my homework serious.

Leave a Reply

