Up on the hill is Columbia

I was strictly working until 5 pm today. Successfully at least. The only disruption until then was a short walk to the Wild Olive to buy a lunch sandwich – delicious eggplant parmigian – and some ingredients for dinner.

So after all the hours at my desk, reading, thinking and writing my bones wanted a little walk at least. When I had been to the Columbia bookstore on Broadway on Friday I had come across a book about memoirs that I wanted to google, but had forgotten both title and author. So I decided to walk over the few blocks from 130th and Lenox to 116th and Broadway. It is not so far away, but Columbia is in Morningside Heights and Heights has something to do with high. It is high up on the hill. Morningside Park is dividing Harlem and Morningside Heights. It is a vast and beautiful park, where steep stairs and paths lead up to the Heights. So going to Columbia is not just a little stroll.
???????????????????????????????
I walked across the campus and got envied the students. It is a self-contained world, well maintained with gorgeous buildings, impressive buildings and green lawns. Not just the collection of dilapidated buildings that my university was.
???????????????????????????????
I found the book again and so the walk has not been in vain. My way back took me down through the park again and along 116th Street into Little Senegal, where women sit together on the sidewalks in their colorful ethnic dresses, chatting and men sit together on the sidewalks in kaftans, playing a board game. Shops along 116th street sell ethnic dresses, kaftans, African fabrics, glittering sandals, bracelets and headscarves next to cellphones and all kinds of soaps.
???????????????????????????????

Back home I felt starving, had a plate of Spaghetti with lots of broccoli and some garlic, chili and cheese and went back to work.

This entry was posted in in New York, Neighborhoods and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

