Met Opera in the Park

I joined a free recital of the Metropolitan Opera in Brooklyn Bridge Park this evening.
After a short stop at Harlem Meer, Central Parks northernmost lake where I hoped to escape the sauna at home for reading on a shady bench,
??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????
I took the C train on the west side all the way down to Brooklyn and walked to Fulton Ferry Landing.

Before I went into the park I enjoyed a monstrous Pizza at famous Grimaldi’s. I was lucky to get a table. When I left a long line had formed out on the street. So 6 pm seems to be a good time to eat at popular restaurants.

The lawn on Pier 1 was full of people sitting on picnic blankets, having brought food and drinks. I even saw bottles of wine. I should have a picnic blanket as well.
???????????????????????????????
The stage was placed right at the waterfront with the Statue of Liberty far out in the background and Downtown Manhattan’s skyline to the right. Staten Island Ferry, Water Taxis, a cruise boat and a freight ship were passing behind the stage. Wonderful scenery for a concert. Acoustics would be better in the Met’s building though.
???????????????????????????????
They featured three singers and a piano. I had no idea what they were singing because I had missed to pick up a program. But it was great just to sit there and listen. The last two pieces where songs from My Fair Lady and The West Side Story. At least I recognized these.
Towards the end of the concert it was getting dark and when I reached Brooklyn Heights to catch the 2 or 3 express train to Harlem it was night – although it was just 9 pm.

This entry was posted in in New York and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Met Opera in the Park

  1. Kathrin Grossniklaus says:

    I like your pics. I was just wondering what the average NY People think or know about the Songs in ‘My fair Lady’? What do they think about the Britsh English Accent? Thati it is old-fashioned? strange? unreal? i remember many, many years ago when we toured the states somebody called my British Englisch Accent ‘Shakespearean’, I didn’t think then that he had an idea what Shakespearean English really sounded like, Sheakespearean English was for him British English.

    Maria, do you know what they really think of British English?
    We’re going to Ernen for a week – will read you when I’m back, till then have a good time.
    Kathrin

  2. Sadie says:

    Kathrin, we (sorry, to generalize) love British English — when spoken with a cultured inflection. Some, however,speak with an exaggerated, annoying affectation, while others speak with an uneducated, choppy harshness. News broadcasters on BBC have the dulcet tones which I enjoy. I hope that helps.
    Sadie

Leave a Reply

