First Day in Class

I hardly did anything today – except going to my first writing class. Besides having lunch in Rosita’s Fish Shack in Williamsburg, shopping fruit and getting sandals repaired.

I was quite excited about the beginning of my class. To make sure I would not be late for check-in at 6:30 pm I left home at 5 pm. So of course I was much too early. Subway connections between Greenpoint and the West Village are not that bad. Check-in was very unspectacular then. I just had to say my name. No paperwork. I was told the number of my classroom and could just go there. The classroom was empty, I was the first one. Bit by bit more students came. Some saying hello, some just taking a seat. The class was fully booked. Twelve women and two men.

I don’t want to go into class details here, but I was quite frustrated when I walked to the subway three hours later. Not because I realized it will be really hard work – I am willing to work hard to become a better writer or a writer at all – but because I had serious problems to understand most of the others when they read their texts. I wasn’t aware that my understanding was SO poor and I have no idea what else to do about it.

What I learned today:
I don’t understand spoken American English.
And I discovered a fruit unknown to me: Pluot – a hybrid of plum and apricot.

This entry was posted in in New York, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Day in Class

  1. Kathrin Grossniklaus says:

    Dear Maria,
    I think you’ll soon get used to their Accent and you have a lot to give they don’t have a clue about.
    Keep writing!
    (Would have liked to know what you were doing in class and what are writing on, though.)
    Kathrin

  2. Sadie DeSimone says:

    Maria, Please don’t be shy to ask the teacher to speak more slowly and distinctly. You can ask privately or send an email. Sorry you are having trouble your first day. You will be such a pro at understanding spoken American English by the end of your odyssey! Good luck! Xoxox

  3. Kim says:

    Hi Maria, it’s so hard for me to believe that you’re having difficulty because we’ve spent much time together and I felt that you understood everything, and I’ve never had to speak slowly to you. And when you traveled with the 4 of us English speakers with very different accents, you didn’t have any problems.
    Maybe you can try listening to news on the radio for an hour a day? The best radio station would be if you go to http://www.nyc.org where you can listen online or 93.9 FM if you have a radio available. You’ll hear lots of interesting news, including about NYC, in the process!

  4. Kim says:

    Oops, sorry. That should be http://www.wnyc.org.

Leave a Reply

