The Arrival of the Key

When I came home from work friday afternoon I found a note in my mailbox. It was from DHL and told me that they had tried to deliver an express mailing. I immediately knew what it was. It could only be what I was waiting for – my passport, containing a US visa. And now the big yellow envelope with the precious document would be lying somewhere in a post office and I would not be able to pick it up before next morning. Looking at the note again to see where and when I could get it, I learned however that it was not in a post office. They had left it with one of my neighbours. I ran downstairs to see if she was at home. She was and handed me the big envelope. I thanked her, wished her a nice weekend and carried it to my apartment, where I carefully opened it. And there it was. My visa. Valid for ten years and allowing multiple entries to the United States. The key to fulfilling my dream – a six month stay in New York City.

The consular officer who had interviewed me for my visa had asked me about my plan. I told her my plan is to spend six months in New York City and write about it. Why New York City? And what kind of writing? 
But that’s a longer story and too much for now.
New York City is still more than four months ahead. So there is plenty of time to reveal the plan and show the progress on my way to make it happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Arrival of the Key

  1. Sadie DeSimone says:

    What fun! Can’t wait to see more.Good luck.

  2. Eva says:

    Want to hear more! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

